My Grandfather with my Grandmother and their first born son, my uncle

My Grandfather with my Grandmother and their first born son, my uncle

We often love someone because of the effect they produce in us – not because we understand, or are even interested in, how they feel. This is the curse of many a beautiful woman. I hope for the sake of my Grandmother that was the love my Grandfather felt to a mysterious woman called Valerie as we had found the half of century of correspondence addressed to her  in his precious locked suitcase after he died. He named my mother after her, his favourite and the most beautiful of his three daughters. Not her, not my mother is on this old photo. It is my favourite picture of my 18 years old Grandmother and 20 years old Grandfather and my beloved uncle, their first born son between them. It was taken 66 years ago.

I remember exactly last year when I heard about the sudden death of my Grandmother in my native country.

It happened one beatiful autumn day in Australia and I would like to share this story with you…

